BFH: Busy Body…

Just in case you didn’t figure it out, BFH = Back From Hiatus!

Sorry guys!

One thing I’ve learned is that I need to space my posts out better. Whenever I get some free time, I get really excited to post….send a ton of posts at one time….then I get super busy again and my blog goes neglected.

I’m  always thinking of different things I want to post about, but I literally have no time during the week.

….Monday through Wednesday I’m working 2 jobs from 8am-Midnight, then Thurs-Friday from 8-4….woe is me. I’ll be super excited next Friday though (aka Payday!).

This past Monday I started my job as a Camp Counselor for a summer teen camp! It’s been quite the experience so far. Before I started, everyone tried to convince me how crazy the teens are and how they’re so hard to deal with. Yes, it’s only been a week and there were times when they made me pretty mad, but they’re also pretty cool kids and very entertaining. I’m excited to see how they grow as the summer goes on!

One of my tasks as a counselor is to lead one of the “special clubs” that the campers get to participate in weekly. My club is the arts and crafts club! I’m looking forward to posting their projects here and some instructions/tips on how to make them work.

This week we did melted crayon art. Due to my lack of proper protective preparation, this project made a huge huge HUGE mess in the camp building so I didn’t get a chance to take pictures…I was too busy scrubbing melted crayons off of the walls to take any.

The mess looked like this, but all over the white window sills and frames instead of a canvas…so….yeah. My bad

*TIP* To easily clean up splatters, just remelt them with the blowdryers! Unfortunately, we blew out all the outlets in the room, so I didn’t have this option for a few hours….)

Anywho, the melted crayon art turned out BEAUTIFULLY!!! Everyone’s looked really cool and they really enjoyed the project. Because of the apparent success of the project, my boss couldn’t be TOO mad at the mess we made 🙂

Here are a few pics from the 1st week!:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Then some of the teens thought it would be fun to dunk me in the pool…

Overall, a great first week at camp and a great learning experience/preparation for my job in Newark!

Leave a Reply

