Curly Girly: “Booo, you suck” Product Fails

As I’ve been trying out new products, I’ve found a few already that are just all bad for my hair type.

I started out my new product journey in Target, with no idea what I wanted to get. They had a random curly hair section so I literally stood there looking up product reviews on my phone as I looked at them in the store.

45 minutes later…..I decided to get 3 products!

  1. Shea Moisture Curling Gel Souffle ($10)

  2. Shea Moisture Hold and Shine Moisture Mist ($10)

  3. Shea Moisture Shea Butter Reconstructive Elixir ($3)

Super excited, I came home and researched my products more! The reviews were okay, but I swear the ones I read while in the store were way more positive. Womp.

My linesister (LS) actually had a tub of the souffle, but later she told me that she hates the stuff…womp again.

I tried it anyways, using only the smallest amount (per advice on makeup alley) and let it dry. At first it seemed not bad, somewhat defined curls and not weighed down or sticky like people online said it would be.

As the day went on, the curls fell and started to feel more producty. My hair just felt dirty to me and I felt like I had to keep putting product (all 3) in to keep the frizz and puff down.

Maybe I just didn’t know what I was doing, but I’m not in love with any of the products.

The souffle was kind of bad/I was scared to use too much and the sprays didn’t seem to do much at all for me really. Apparently the elixir is just a bunch of oils and my hair doesn’t need all of that!

I returned the souffle and the Moisture mist to Target and kept the elixir since it was only 3 bucks.

Another one of my Ls’s used the elixir for her hair and said she loves it!!! She has a different hair texture and used it for a twist out (I think) and her hair looks great!! Just goes to show everything depends on your hair type!! That elixir will probably become hers soon and that’s fine with me lol.

You win some, you lose some….,

Johnel

2 thoughts on “Curly Girly: “Booo, you suck” Product Fails

  1. I have tried two of their products and they are something to get use to. I didn’t just try it one time and fall in love. But…. I did heat that using the curling smoothie and the souffle is the bomb.com

    • Yeah, I saw a video of someone doing a wash and go and they used the souffle + the smoothie…but I saw it too late. And a lot of the reviews were like “I hated this at first..blah blah” I just didn’t have the patience lol. Glad you made it work for you though!

Leave a Reply

