Back from Hiatus: Graduation!

Woohoo!

Woohoo!

I’m baaaaaccckkkkkkk………….!!! So, I’ve been meaning to post since way before graduation happened…but things got so hectic šŸ˜¦ Sorry guys.

I had thrift shop posts…and graduation dress shopping posts…and graduation day posts….and all types of stuff in store, but yeah. No. They didn’t happen. So now it’s time to play catch up!

About 3 weeks ago, I graduated from the University of Virginia! Now the real adventure begins….

I’ll give a quick run down of the incredibly hectic weekend! Like, at the end of that weekend all I wanted to do was sleep…literally.

Friday: Let the festivities begin! The day before I was home in Hampton taking graduation pics at JCPenney, so Friday I had to drive back into town. I got here at about 2pm and the “festivities” (if you catch my drift) began at about 4 pm. Bad idea. How do people handle day drinking…all day?!?! Needless to say, I was thoroughly festive by about 6 pm and didn’t know how to proceed with my night lol. We had such big plans for that evening, but unfortunately I did not make it out the house tonight. The rain did have a bit to do with that decision though…!

Saturday: Woke up feeling blah and not wanting to go to Valediction. It was still rainy and gross outside, but…STEPHEN COLBERT. I wouldn’t have missed it for the world! We were moved inside to the rainsite at JPJ and sat through a bunch of surprisingly good speeches before Mr. Colbert came on. And omg he was amazing!!! Wish we could have had him for our main speaker..but, we’ll get to that later.

Valediction with my faves!

Valediction with my faves!

After a lovely valediction, we came home, got some food in our bellies and napped. Several hours later it was time for Donning of the Kente! Again, nobody wanted to wake up and we almost missed it…The struggle. Long story short, Kente came with a lot of nice pics and, of course, a kente stole!

IMG_3947-1

Look at our lovely Kentes! šŸ™‚

After kente, we came home and had some lively libations (does this just mean wine? If so, this is not an accurate statement).

Another night where we didn’t make it where we intended, but at least we made it out the house! Had a great time with great people and free food…winning combination.

Sunday, ie. GRADUATION DAY:

Basically……..a long, crazy day of trying to get around to places on time and making sure other people were getting to places on time as well so they don’t miss any of the action! We got to have our traditional processional down the lawn, Thank God! Once we got to our seats, however, it was super boring and the speaker sucked. I would say his name, but honestly I don’t remember…

After my ceremony, we went to a hibachi grill and I could barely finish my meal because I was so tired. Things got real.

Here are some of my fave pics from the day!:

And finally….MY GORGEOUS DIPLOMA!

*drools*

*drools*

It’s huge and I love it. The end.

If you made it this far, congrats and thanks for caring šŸ™‚

I promise I’ll never leave you again,

Johnel

One thought on “Back from Hiatus: Graduation!

Leave a Reply

