Bye Bye CYFS!

Two little princesses :)

Two little princesses!

Thursday was my last day at my internship at CYFS (Children, Youth and Family Services)…and my week was one full of goodbyes 😦

We work at three different neighborhoods…so I had to say bye to all of the kiddies there, and then goodbye to all 3 of my bosses! This graduating thing really is becoming a little sad and really REAL.

Anywho, this internship has been the best experience ever!!!! Seriously! I really felt like I was helping to make a difference with the kiddies and they were always so much fun to be around. And they were super loving and snuggly 🙂

They also drew really great portraits of me lol. See below for the amazingness

But, back to why I loved this internship so much…

My internship bosses are the best women in the world. It’s so apparent that they love their jobs and truly care about the people who they are helping. I hope I can be as great and inspirational as them one day.

I loved being around the families and learned so much. I learned about some of their struggles and learned how I (and everyone else) can effectively help them out. No, they don’t need or want every hand out, but it was great to see how much they appreciated what we were able to offer!

This experience really did warm my heart and make me even more passionate about helping people overcome their hardships!

Just so you can get an idea of the cuties we work with….I took some last day pictures! *insert crying happy face here*

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thank you so much to Hilary, Tracey, Beth and Erin! It’s been a great year!

Bye bye my last little shred of undergraduate career….thank you for being oh so life-changing!

Feeling bittersweet,

Johnel

P.S. If anyone in Cville is interested in interning with them, let me know! I can definitely put in a good word for you! You won’t regret it 😉

Leave a Reply

